top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElsie Zajicek

We All Want What We Can’t Have

Stay with me. Full circle moment coming soon.

Would you please describe yourself using three adjectives?

Don’t get deep, just the first words that come to mind.


I want her straight hair instead of my curly hair.

I want her body after I workout, not mine.

I want, I want, I want. I’m not giving myself a fair shot to cherish what I have.


When we flip the script and hear ourselves out loud, it is crazy how self deprecating we can be. The three words you used to describe yourself in the beginning, were they positive?

Mine sure as hell were not.

Every inch of my body I USE to criticize. I had a negative connotation with everything about myself and I honestly knew it.


Until, I flipped the script

I realized no one was telling me my clothes were ugly. I was telling myself that.

I realized no one is telling me I’m a lazy pile if I watch TV. I was telling myself that.

So, now what?

I slowly put this tool into practice and the negative cloud around me slowly disappeared.

I would just pause one second longer instead of self-deprecating again.Then slowly, one day after another, it would be easier to go about my days. I was just laughing louder and walking prouder. Small things but they were improved things.


Along the way I realized. I am my own problem. I’m telling myself these negative things, literalllllly no one else. Holy muther fuckin’ shit. The self reflection I did after that! The way it feels to be nice to yourself and love yourself!? Oh my jeez. Go be nice to yourself today!





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fear and f'Bombs

I’ve learned that I’m actually fucking scared of the unknown and nothing gets done while living in fear. When my therapist said I was...

Fuck, It's 2024

The whole idea of setting goals, creating expectations, and all together making a day about a “new” you used to be very enticing to me. I...

Comentários


bottom of page