top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElsie Zajicek

Reworking the Social Construct

Someone recommended that I delete social media. In the past social media had a big impact on my eating disorder. Now that I am actively recovering I looked at them like they were a little nuts. This shit on the internet doesn't impact me the way it use to so I saw no reason to delete apps that help me stay connected.


But lets sit on this. Maybe its deeper than just seeing pretty people and their pretty lives. We all know social media is a highlight reel of peoples lives, not the real picture. What if seeing these perfect lives is influencing us to have lives as theirs and not our own. We don't strive to have our own unique lives. And essentially this is the most beautiful part of life. Everything is meant to be different and unique and it's so beautiful watching it come together. What a boring world if we all lived the same life and had all the same interests. Social media is influencing us what to like and the type of life we need to strive for. I'm here to tell you that doing what makes you happy is not wrong. It may feel like your going against the curve but, I can ensure you, you are not. You are living the life you were made to live. Enjoy the ride hunny bunny.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fear and f'Bombs

I’ve learned that I’m actually fucking scared of the unknown and nothing gets done while living in fear. When my therapist said I was...

Fuck, It's 2024

The whole idea of setting goals, creating expectations, and all together making a day about a “new” you used to be very enticing to me. I...

Comments


bottom of page